Frequently Asked Questions
Have questions about Las Vegas property management? Find answers to the most frequently asked questions here.
How long does it take to rent our a property?
With the market high in tenant demand and low inventory, many properties are leasing in record speed to well qualified tenants. On average, most properties Nicklin manages are leased within 2 weeks of being placed on the rental market. Of course, price point and condition of the home can affect how long a property is listed, even in an in demand market. As a result, we highly recommend a property be in move in condition and priced competitively to limit vacancy and lost rent.
How do you make sure I get a quality tenant?
Tenant screening is one of the most critical aspects of managing a property. We put great emphasis on this part of the process to make sure you get the right tenant. Our tenants screening process includes:
Once this information is obtained, we contact you to go over the tenant’s qualifications, providing you our recommendation. Ultimately, you make the final decision on the tenant.
How much security deposit can I collect?
Security deposit is determined by a tenant’s qualifications, risks and pets. However, Nevada law stipulates that a maximum deposit of 3 times the monthly amount of rent can be collected. Once a tenant is screened, we will go over the rental application with you and make a recommendation for the security deposit. The minimum security deposit we collect is one month’s rent.
Are COVID restrictions still in effect?
(Updated October 2021) – Currently, there are no COVID eviction moratoriums in effect, whether imposed federally or by state mandates. As a result, evictions can proceed through the court system for non payment of rent or non-compliance of a lease. For tenants struggling to pay their rent due to the economic impact of COVID, there are a number of resources and rent assistance sites available. These can be found on our Coronavirus response page at https://www.nicklinpm.com/covid19/.
When visiting a property for inspections, it is recommended by the CDC to wear a mask covering to prevent the spread of Covid-19.
What happens if a tenant does not pay rent?
Nevada law stipulates that tenants who do not pay rent may be evicted only via court order. It is not permissible for a landlord or property manager to change locks on their own or disrupt utility service to a house. Prior to an eviction occurring, a “7 day notice” must be served to the tenants outlining the rent and fees owed. This notice allows a tenant to either settle the balance owed and continue their tenancy or “quit” – in essence, vacate the property. Once the 7 day notice expires, a court order may be obtained to grant an eviction. An eviction can only take place by a city constable, who will physically enter the property and determine if it has already been vacated or forcefully evict the tenant. At that time, the property will be re-keyed and secured to prevent access by the prior tenant. A notice will be posted on the front door indicating that an eviction took place. Most evictions occur between 30-45 days of non payment of rent.
What happens if a tenant leaves their possessions in the property after an eviction?
On occasion, tenant’s may leave their personal possessions inside of a property upon eviction or abandonment of the property. In essence, the property must be stored for 30 days, with a 14 day notice issued prior to disposal. Per NRS law:
NRS 118A.460 Procedure for disposal of personal property abandoned or left on premises; landlord required to provide tenant reasonable opportunity to retrieve essential personal effects for period following eviction or lockout of tenant.
1. The landlord may dispose of personal property abandoned on the premises by a former tenant or left on the premises after eviction of the tenant without incurring civil or criminal liability in the following manner:
(a) The landlord shall reasonably provide for the safe storage of the property for 30 days after the abandonment or eviction or the end of the rental period and may charge and collect the reasonable and actual costs of inventory, moving and storage before releasing the property to the tenant or his or her authorized representative rightfully claiming the property within that period. The landlord is liable to the tenant only for the landlord’s negligent or wrongful acts in storing the property.
(b) After the expiration of the 30-day period, the landlord may dispose of the property and recover his or her reasonable costs out of the property or the value thereof if the landlord has made reasonable efforts to locate the tenant, has notified the tenant in writing of his or her intention to dispose of the property and 14 days have elapsed since the notice was given to the tenant. The notice must be mailed to the tenant at the tenant’s present address, and if that address is unknown, then at the tenant’s last known address.
(c) Vehicles must be disposed of in the manner provided in chapter 487 of NRS for abandoned vehicles.
2. Any dispute relating to the amount of the costs claimed by the landlord pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection 1 may be resolved using the procedure provided in subsection 7 of NRS 40.253.
3. During the 5-day period following the eviction or lockout of a tenant, the landlord shall provide the former tenant a reasonable opportunity to retrieve essential personal effects, including, without limitation, medication, baby formula, basic clothing and personal care items. Any dispute relating to the reasonableness of the landlord’s actions pursuant to this section may be resolved using the procedure provided in subsection 9 of NRS 40.253.
When do I get my rent money?
Nicklin Property Management processes deposits each month to our clients. Per our property management agreement, rent is deposited by the 15th of each month, or sooner. Rent is deposited via direct deposit for the fastest and most secure way of delivering payment.
Can I access monthly statements and documents online?
Yes! Our online portal is designed to provide you with everything you need to successfully oversee your property, including:
The portal is updated in real time and an email notification is sent to you when monthly statements post.
Can I do repairs myself at a property?
Yes! Many of our owners and investors are contractors, handymen or live locally who wish to perform repairs and maintenance at their properties. Simply indicate your preference in our property management agreement and our maintenance staff will communicate with you when maintenance is necessary.
I have a home warranty. Will you be able to use it?
Yes! We work with many home warranty providers and their contractors to resolve maintenance issues at properties. Simply provide your policy information in our property management agreement and we’ll direct maintenance requests to them.
Keep in mind that home warranty providers and their contractors are not bound by Nevada Landlord Tenant Law that pertains to habitability or essential services which call for a rental property to be maintained in good and habitable condition by a rental property Owner with all essential services in good working condition; and a failure of such essential services to be remedied within 48 hours.
Do you allow short term (AirBnB) rentals?
Unfortunately, we do not. Nicklin Property Management specializes in long term initial rental terms (1 year +) followed by a month to month tenancy or lease extension which is determined by the homeowner. Additionally, we do not allow tenants to sub-lease the property they are leasing, whether long or short term. Any changes to the lease or adding additional lease holders or occupants must be approved by the owner first.
Should I accept pets?
While this is determined by each homeowner, there are a few things to keep in mind when making that decision. Today, many tenants have pets. Thus, if no pets are accepted, this will significantly limit the amount of tenant prospects for your home, potentially extending the time the home will be listed and vacant.
If you decide to consider pets, keep in mind the following: